Home Galley

Follow my kitchen experiments, catastrophes and triumphs

I’m not much of a cake person ~ Daniel Radcliffe

Leave a comment

I love Daniel Radcliffe’s attitude. It means more cake for me, hooray!

I’m not great at baking pretty cakes. I enjoy quick and easy loaf cakes that don’t require any embellishments other than at most, a smear of good butter. But then I had kids. And they started to grow. And have birthdays. Which require parties. Which means cake!

Now as we live in Surrey this means you either fall into one of two categories. The Surrey-Mummy-With-Too-Much-Money category (or possibly the I-can’t-bake-for-bleep-but-am-too-embarrassed-to-admit-it-category). Or you fall into the uber competitive My-Cake-Is-Better-Than-Your-Cake group. Now this was a tough one for me. I am not so keen to fork out more on a cake than on wine for a party. I’ve also never really classed myself as the scary competitive parent type. I mean my kids ARE the brightest, most beautiful children in the ENTIRE world, EVER. My eldest could count to a million from 3 months don’t you know!

Now, I CAN bake. And how hard can it be to ice a cake?

So against my better judgement, I creamed some butter and sugar

Image

And once the easy part was done, I waved my trusty spatula and got cracking. This was my first ever attempt with ready rolled icing. It was a million times easier than I thought it would be. So take courage, those who fall into the I’d-Rather-Spend-My-Money-On-Wine group like me. Its not that hard, its actually great fun. And shhhhhhhhh, don’t tell anyone else, but you get a GREAT deal of satisfaction when the cake is all finished. Particularly when the most annoying of the Rich-BiMothers asks who your baker is!

P.S. I don’t actually know any annoying mothers as referred to above. Either I’m just really lucky or they don’t exist! 😉

Image

Author: Skuggs

A Mom, a Geek, a Cook and apparently an Engineer.

Leave a Reply

