Home Galley

Follow my kitchen experiments, catastrophes and triumphs

Chicken soup and pasta necklaces

Leave a comment

I think that women just have a primeval instinct to make soup, which they will try to foist on anybody who looks like a likely candidate ~ Dylan Moran

It’s a cold, wet and miserable day here today. As it’s the first rainy day in ages, I feel that it’s ok to stay indoors with the kids, playing random games and watching way too many DVDs. Yesterday’s roast chicken carcass is currently hanging out in my massive crockpot, accompanied by some onion, celery, garlic, a parsnip, 2 carrots, a sweet potato and red lentils. I doubt it will be ready for lunch, but the kids and I will definitely be enjoying a thick and comforting broth with big chunks of sour dough bread for tea tonight. I’m quite looking forward to it.

When the miserable weather really set in, as it can only do in the UK, we have to just grit our teeth, don our rain gear and head on out into it. Its a pretty trying time really. Toddlers get bored, mothers get frustrated and cabin fever sets in for everyone. The easiest way for toddlers to deal with the whole situation seems to be through horrific behaviour. Its understandable really as they have no way to burn off the same amounts of energy as they can on a nice warm sunny day.

I used to struggle to deal with the behaviour, and particularly, with preventing it happening in the first place. Thankfully I have a very good friend who is also an amazing Mummy. I remember a very ranty chat we had where I was moaning about the Terrible Two’s and she gave me the most brilliant solution. Create a “Special Box” of crafty bits and pieces to be brought out on particularly bad days. Genius idea. So far, no tantrums today. J is threading a pasta necklace. Its kept him occupied for almost an hour so far. I made sure the stiffened lace end wasn’t too perfect to make sure it takes a bit more time dexterity.

No beads? Make your own with pasta in your kitchen! There are loads of tutorials out there. You just need threadable pasta (I used Penne), ziplock bags,  food colouring and some vinegar (or rubbing alcohol).Use one zip lock bag per colour. Add in a tablespoon of vinegar and some food colouring. Drop in your pasta and swirl around till it is all well coated with colour. I left mine for 5 minutes before spreading it out on waxed paper to dry.Very easy. You should try it before the tantrums strike!

Author: Skuggs

A Mom, a Geek, a Cook and apparently an Engineer.

Leave a Reply

