Home Galley

Follow my kitchen experiments, catastrophes and triumphs

This year’s Christmas Cake

2 Comments

Its been a ridiculously long time since my last post. We’ve had a fabulous ski trip and moved to the other side of the world. Its taken us a while to settle down here. We’ve had to move into our rental, await the arrival of our shipping container, find a job each, settle the kids into child care and start house hunting. I can’t believe that we have been here for over 8 months!!!! This year has flown, and Christmas is only 2 months away….eeek!

I have been baking and cooking but struggling to find the time to upload blog posts and photos. Hopefully I can get back into it now.

Tonight I am making my annual Christmas cake. Over a month late!!! I can only hope that 6 weeks is enough time to mature it properly. I’m sure an extra application of brandy will assist the process.

image

I’ve been baking some of Gran’s crunchies every week for the kids snacks. I also experimented with some condensed milk lemon biscuits.

Shopping here in New Zealand is interesting and very different to the UK. There is a LOT less choice. But what there is seems to be better quality, as long as you stick to seasonal produce, which I generally do. Good fresh fish is easy to find. And I am growing broccoli,  leeks, strawberries, tomatoes and loads of herbs in my little rental veggie garden.

We cannot wait until we move. We have bought a gorgeous house with a paddock and a big garden.  I’m planning some fruit trees for my birthday and Christmas present and a big vegetable garden. Tree-wise we are planning a lemon, lime, grapefruit, manderin, plum, peach, nectarine, apple, pear, loquat, kiwi and cherry. That should be enough to keep me busy. We will also finally get some chooks. Fresh eggs, hooray!!!! And a friend will put a bee hive in our paddock, so we will get home grown honey! We’ve also got enough space to raise a couple of lambs for the freezer every year. Or possibly a pig. Yum!

What plans do you all have lined up for Christmas? My brother and family is coming to visit from Australia for 2 weeks. I can’t wait. We’re going to do a roast on the bbq and go down to the beach.

Author: Skuggs

A Mom, a Geek, a Cook and apparently an Engineer.

2 thoughts on “This year’s Christmas Cake

  1. I am literally green with envy at the sound of your new house and planned trees and chooks! xx

    • Hi! I can hardly wait until we move! The spouse not so keen at the list of DIY jobs I’m putting together. First one is to build my chook house.

Leave a Reply

